Best Places to Buy Sourdough Starter Online (2026 Comparison)
Adam & MelissaCompartir
Short answer: If you want to bake as soon as possible, buy a live starter. Great Grandma's Sourdough's liquid starter and King Arthur's Classic Fresh Sourdough Starter both arrive alive, so you skip the multi-day wake-up of a dried starter. Ours is typically active and ready to bake with in about 1 to 2 days and ships internationally. King Arthur says its starter is bubbly and doubling in 1 to 3 days, and it ships only to US states and territories. If you want a starter that can sit on a shelf until you're ready, ship abroad, or come with a long replacement warranty, a dehydrated starter is the better fit. Great Grandma's Sourdough sells both live and dried starters. Cultures for Health, Breadtopia, Sourdoughs International and Captain Sourpants (on Amazon) sell dehydrated starters. They differ in price, number of strains, guarantee terms and where they ship. We run Great Grandma's Sourdough, so we've stuck to facts each seller publishes on its own pages and linked every one so you can check them.
Disclosure: this comparison is written by the owners of Great Grandma's Sourdough. Prices, policies and review counts change, so please confirm on each seller's page before you buy.
Comparison table
| Seller & product | Live or dried | Price & what's included | Strains offered | Guarantee | Ships outside US? | Activation time (seller's claim) | Gluten-free option | Reviews shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| King Arthur Baking: Classic Fresh Sourdough Starter | Live (fresh, "never dried") | $12.95; 28 g jar of fresh starter plus care and feeding directions | 1 (Classic) | Satisfaction guarantee: return defective merchandise at any time | No, US states and territories only | Feed within 24 hours; bubbly and doubling in 1 to 3 days | Not stated (not labeled gluten-free) | 4.7/5, 5,070 reviews |
| Cultures for Health: San Francisco-Style Sourdough Starter | Dehydrated | $13.99; dehydrated starter plus step-by-step activation instructions | 7 starter products (San Francisco, gluten-free, whole wheat, rye, Endless Fresh, Artisan, 72-Hour Rapid) | 60-day guarantee: return within 60 days; free replacement for problems | Not stated (shipping page lists US options only) | No fixed time given; "use the starter's activity, not a fixed deadline" | Yes, $14.99 (brown rice flour; made in a facility that processes gluten) | 4.6/5, 678 reviews |
| Breadtopia: Sourdough Starter (Dry) | Dehydrated | $9.50; dried starter (organic wheat flour and wild yeast culture), with activation instructions online | 1 on this page | No starter guarantee stated; returns policy excludes consumables; report damage within 30 days | Canada only (sales limited to USA and Canada) | "Within a few days"; bubbling about day 3 to 4 | Not stated | 13 reviews, all 5/5 |
| Sourdoughs International (Ed Wood) | Dehydrated | $15 per culture ($25 for the 2-culture Italian or New Zealand sets); 1 oz (28 g) packet with instructions; $6.50 handling on orders up to $40 | 18 cultures from many countries | Replaced within one month of shipping if directions were followed and it fails to start; no returns or refunds | Yes, international orders by USPS (allow 15 business days); Canada through 1847.ca | Usually 3 to 5 days | Not stated | Not shown |
| Captain Sourpants: San Francisco Sourdough Starter (Amazon) | Dehydrated | $12.99; 0.53 oz (15 g) packet plus step-by-step instructions | 5 options on the listing (San Francisco, Canadian, Mature, Organic, Gluten Free) | Customer satisfaction guarantee (contact them; length not stated). Amazon lists it as non-returnable, with refund or replacement if damaged or defective | Amazon USA and Canada | 3 to 7 days | Yes (Gluten Free option) | 4.3/5, 1,362 ratings; listed as #1 in Amazon Sourdough Starters |
| Great Grandma's Sourdough: dehydrated starters (that's us) | Dehydrated | $7.99 to $14.99; starter, step-by-step activation guide with recipes, 1-year replacement warranty, personal support | 8 dehydrated starters, including San Francisco, Italian (Camaldoli Monastery tradition), Ancient Egyptian, gluten-free, Sue's Sour, Black Death, Alaskan and Eve | Free 1-year replacement warranty | Yes, 200+ countries and territories | About 5 days | Yes, $7.99 (not suitable for celiac disease) | Etsy shop (all products): 8,400+ sales, 4.9/5 from 900+ reviews |
| Great Grandma's Sourdough: liquid (live) starter (that's us) | Live (fresh liquid culture in a glass jar) | $19.99 (1 oz), $23.99 (2 oz), $25.99 (3 oz), $27.99 (4 oz); live starter in a glass jar, activation instructions, starter care guide, 1-year replacement warranty, personal support | 6: San Francisco, Italy, Egypt, Black Death, Sue's Sour, Alaskan | Free 1-year replacement warranty | Yes | About 1 to 2 days; activate within a few days of arrival (perishable) | No (our gluten-free starter is dehydrated only) | Etsy shop (all products): 8,400+ sales, 4.9/5 from 900+ reviews |
Prices are list prices in USD on each seller's own page as of October 2026, before shipping and tax. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the seller's pages.
What about Carl's 1847 Oregon Trail starter? Carl's Friends has long been a favorite for a free starter. As of October 2026 its website says it is not accepting new requests, that it "may come back in November," and that there is no waiting list. Check that page for the current status.
Best for…
- Fastest start: a live starter, ours or King Arthur's. Our liquid starter arrives as a live culture in a glass jar and is typically active and ready to bake with in about 1 to 2 days. King Arthur's Classic Fresh Sourdough Starter also arrives alive; King Arthur asks for a first feeding within 24 hours and says it's bubbly and doubling in 1 to 3 days. King Arthur ships to US addresses only; our liquid starter also ships internationally. Either way, a live starter is perishable, so plan to feed it soon after it arrives.
- Most reviews from one brand: King Arthur. 4.7 out of 5 from 5,070 reviews on its product page.
- Most regional cultures: Sourdoughs International. It lists 18 cultures from many countries, sold one at a time.
- Different flour bases (whole wheat, rye): Cultures for Health. It has dedicated whole wheat and rye starters as well as San Francisco-style and gluten-free.
- Amazon Prime convenience: Captain Sourpants. It's listed as #1 in Amazon's Sourdough Starters category.
- Canada: Breadtopia or Sourdoughs International (through 1847.ca). Both serve Canadian bakers directly.
- Shipping outside the US and Canada, or gifting abroad: Great Grandma's Sourdough. We ship both dried and liquid starters internationally (200+ countries and territories). Dried starters are the hardiest for long trips because they're shelf-stable.
- Longest published replacement warranty, and a starter for under $10: Great Grandma's Sourdough. Our replacement warranty runs 1 year (the longest we saw in this comparison was 60 days at Cultures for Health). Most of our dehydrated starters are $7.99.
- Gluten-free baking: Cultures for Health, Captain Sourpants and Great Grandma's Sourdough all sell a gluten-free starter. Ours is not suitable for anyone with celiac disease, because it's made in a kitchen that also handles gluten. Cultures for Health says its gluten-free starter is made in a facility that processes gluten.
Our honest trade-offs
- A dried starter takes about 5 days. Our dehydrated starters take about 5 days of feeding to wake up (longer in a cold kitchen). If you need to bake this weekend, a live starter (including our liquid starter, typically ready in about 1 to 2 days) will usually get you there sooner.
- It costs more than free. A spoonful of starter from a local bakery or a friend costs nothing, and you can make a starter from scratch with just flour and water. You pay for a known culture, instructions, a warranty and support, not for something you can't get any other way.
- Heritage stories have limits. Our Ancient Egyptian starter is inspired by 4,500 years of Egyptian breadmaking history; its lineage can't be independently verified. We'd treat any starter's age or origin story, including ours, as tradition rather than proof.
- Fewer reviews than the biggest brands. Our 900+ Etsy reviews are a smaller sample than King Arthur's 5,070.
- Not for celiac. Our gluten-free starter suits people avoiding gluten for intolerance, but not anyone with celiac disease.
FAQ
Is a live or a dehydrated sourdough starter better?
A live starter, such as Great Grandma's Sourdough's liquid starter or King Arthur's Classic Fresh Sourdough Starter, skips the multi-day wake-up of a dried starter but must be fed soon after it arrives. Ours is typically active and ready to bake with in about 1 to 2 days, and we ask you to activate it within a few days of receiving it. King Arthur asks for a first feeding within 24 hours and says its starter is bubbly and doubling in 1 to 3 days. A dehydrated starter takes longer to activate (about 5 days for ours, 3 to 5 days at Sourdoughs International, 3 to 7 days at Captain Sourpants) but is shelf-stable, so you can start whenever you like and it travels well.
Which sourdough starter sellers ship internationally?
From the sellers' own pages: Great Grandma's Sourdough ships both its dried and liquid starters internationally (200+ countries and territories), with dried starters the hardiest for long trips, and Sourdoughs International accepts international orders by USPS. Breadtopia ships to the USA and Canada, and Captain Sourpants is sold on Amazon USA and Canada. King Arthur ships only to US states and territories. Cultures for Health's shipping page lists US options only.
Which sourdough starter has the longest guarantee?
Of the sellers here, Great Grandma's Sourdough offers a free 1-year replacement warranty. Cultures for Health offers a 60-day guarantee, and Sourdoughs International replaces a culture that fails to start within one month of shipping if its directions were followed. King Arthur's satisfaction guarantee covers defective merchandise at any time. Captain Sourpants has a satisfaction guarantee without a stated length, and Breadtopia's returns policy excludes consumables.
Is there a gluten-free sourdough starter that's safe for celiac disease?
Great Grandma's Sourdough's gluten-free starter is not suitable for celiac disease because it's made in a kitchen that also handles gluten. Cultures for Health says its gluten-free starter is made in a facility that processes products containing gluten. If you have celiac disease, ask the seller about cross-contact before you buy.
Can I still get Carl's 1847 Oregon Trail starter?
As of October 2026, carlsfriends.net says it is not accepting new requests, may come back in November, and has no waiting list.
How long does a dehydrated starter from Great Grandma's Sourdough take to activate?
About 5 days, following our step-by-step rehydration instructions. Warmth, flour and water all affect timing, and you can message us at any point if it's slow.
Last checked October 2026. Prices, policies, ratings and availability come from each seller's own website or listing on the date we checked and may have changed since.
About the authors: Written by Adam & Melissa, who run Great Grandma's Sourdough. They keep the cultures, pack the orders, and personally answer every support message.